Ö3 reveals Austrian final line up

National broadcaster Ö3 has just revealed the candidates that will be taking part in the austrian final to take place on the 24th of February. The line up consists of 9 acts with one space still left open, reserved for a wildcard act.

The artists were presented on the radio channel Hitradio Ö3 this morning at 08:05, with the broadcaster promising a broad spectre of artists on show. One of the most recognizable names among the nine acts to be confirmed are Trackshittaz, back for another try after last year’s close call with Oida Taunz. Nominations for the final tenth spot in the start field are still being accepted by Ö3 online.

The broadcaster had initially invited a number of artists to participate in the final and are by all accounts very satisfied with the response. Head of programming at Ö3, Georg Spatt comments on their selection: "Whether it be a band or a solo artist, a flashy and colourful act, or soft and beautiful, we have secured some high-profile names. The list of artists is indeed testament to the diversity of the austrian music scene, and through Hitradio Ö3, the acts will be given the chance to present both themselves and their songs on the largest music stage in the country. We will be pleased to finally send a worthy
candidate to Baku as a representative for Austria

The nine artists to take part in the final on the 24th of February are:

!Dela Dap
James Cottriall
Norbert Schneider
Conchita Wurst

The songs which each act will compete with will be presented from the 9th of January. More information surrounding the acts in the Austrian final can be found on the official website (german only).

Source: Ö3, EuroVisionary.com

Liked what you've read? Subscribe to our Eurovision news!

Read more in the news archive